Lakeview SSA 27

Low-Line Committee Meeting Minutes May 2, 2018, 6:00 PM Lakeview Chamber of Commerce, 1409 W. Addison St., Chicago, IL 60613

Present: Darian Campise, Jill Heise, Matt Lederer, Terese McDonald, Erin Schwartz, Chuck Stewart

Absent: None

Staff: Lee Crandell, Dillon Goodson

Guests: Brandon Biederman, Kiara Joseph, Sean McKay, Andrew Moddrell (by phone)

Darian Campise called the meeting to order at 6:07 PM.

Public Comment

There was no public comment.

Reading and Approval of Minutes

Terese McDonald motioned to approve the minutes from the Low-Line Committee meeting on November 2, 2017, seconded by Erin Schwartz; motion carries.

Project Budget and Work Plan

Representatives from PORT Urbanism provided an overview of the project timeline and updated the Committee on modifications to the design, including the use of poured concrete instead of brick pavers for the pathway and refinements to the light diffuser canopy at the Paulina Plaza. They shared project budgets for the plazas at Paulina and Ashland, as well as preliminary figures for the Friends of Lakeview pathway across Marshfield Ave., and suggested that the SSA's total costs for Phase 1 would be approximately \$300,000, subject to change.

Public Art

The Committee discussed a list of artists they reviewed ahead of the meeting, including artists and arts organizations who submitted their work in response to the SSA's public call for qualifications, and artists who were recommended by the Streetscape Committee during a recent meeting. They reviewed the artists' past works and shared their thoughts on which artists should be considered for three new murals located at the future Paulina Plaza. Committee members liked the idea of showcasing artists with a range of backgrounds and stylistic approaches, including artists or arts organizations that are accustomed to involving the community in their process. They also acknowledged how each of the walls is different, and that the mural that will be viewable from the CTA platform should capture the attention of commuters and welcome them into the neighborhood, with the other murals complementing one another. Erin Schwartz motioned to invite the following nine artists to submit site-specific concepts for the SSA Commission to review with a budget of \$500 per artist, seconded by Chuck Stewart; motion carries:

- Amuse126
- Lauren Asta
- Nora Kate Balayti
- Dasic Fernandez
- Adam Fujita

- Tony Passero
- JC Rivera
- We All Live Here
- Yollocalli Arts Reach

Adjourn

Jill Heise motioned to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Terese McDonald; meeting adjourned at 7:40.